top of page


The major coal resources in NSW are located in the 500 km long, 150 km wide Sydney-Gunnedah Basin. It extends from south of Wollongong to north of Newcastle and north-westerly through Narrabri into Queensland.


There are five major coalfields within the basin:

- Hunter,

- Newcastle,

- Southern,

- Western and

- Gunnedah.


Minor coal resources are also located in the Gloucester and Oaklands Basins.

A major factor in the economic development of NSW has been the ease of access to coal as an energy resource for the State’s main industrial centres.


Continued development of these resources, however, needs to take into account competing land uses and a range of environmental issues.

NSW recoverable coal reserves total over 11.5 billion tonnes and include those resources where conceptual mine planning has been undertaken, in both Mining Leases and Exploration Licence areas.


Coal mines in NSW produced a record 145.4 Mt of saleable coal in 2009-10 worth around $13.2 billion.


Jennmar Logo 2021.jpg
minova2018_cmyk_colour (002).png
Quarry Mining.jpg
bottom of page